A Wrench and the Blowdryer

We are 18 days into the leg lengthening process.  So far so good I am happy to report.

Image by Leo Reynolds via Flicker

He is getting more mobile and as comfortable as can be expected.  Pin sites continue to flare up and cause concern but that is part of living with an ex-fix. We appreciate prayers for continued healing and protection from mega bacteria.  There are 10 holes with pins or wires to deal with. I never take happy pin sites for granted.

The skin is thin over the shin bone and we are starting to see some tearing.  Yes, that is painful! The wires are smaller in diameter which seems like they would be more comfortable to “wear”.  The down side to wires protruding from the skin is they want to heal (seal) together, trapping germs beneath the skin and in the tract, only to break open in the form of a sore.

Are you still with me? I know these details aren’t for everyone.

The soft tissues are feeling the effects of the bone growing so rapidly. They have less ability to “stretch” or duplicate compared to how quickly bone cells fill in.  In the beginning, the soft tissues have built-in elasticity by nature so they keep up well.  The further we go the more difficult it is for muscles, tendons, and as we see…skin.

One of the struts is so tight that I can’t move it with my fingertips now. I have to use a wrench to turn the nut that lengthens that side.  I’m no stranger to using tools but mammas shouldn’t have to use it on their babies! Luckily, it isn’t too painful for the Bionic Boy. You want to know what his concern was?  “Don’t scratch my paint, Mom.” Really? The finish on the ex-fix was the least of my concerns.  Boys.

He also was noticing that the black finish on the fixator was starting to show water spots from the shower.  I told him he could use my blow dryer on cool after he got out of the shower to dry it. He was all over that tonight.

I guess when you have a piercing like this one you want to keep it shiny.

Everyday we have a good day we know God is near. Everyday there are challenges we know God is near. He is in the good & bad days. Life is Emerging as we recognize the fullness of life in the here and now.

I hope you see more of Him in your days…the good and the bad ones. He is near & He cares about every detail.

What are your tools turned into blessings?

I love hearing your thoughts!

